Curtain call: Semester One

Uploaded the field trip proposal and heaved a sigh of relief, that’s it, semester one unlocked!

It all began on 10th January 2014 at the welcome tea, eagerly wanting to know all about the course:

13403583873_0dd54229b9_b

 

And it’s already the end of the semester with two modules completed! These past 4 months have just whizzed past, I didn’t even get to catch a breath. It was crazy but it’s been mentally stimulating and eye-opening. Thanks to all our profs this semester, David, Siva, Andreas and Prof Sow! And of course my lovely classmates, without whom I think classes would’ve been a bore.

2014-04-14 21.30.25

2014-04-26_16.49.29-iphone_2

The X-Science Symposium yesterday was a blast. Organising a symposium at The Science Centre beats organising oncology, neurology or whatever symposiums for work – working with fun classmates  versus having to deal with grumpy physicians who do not answer the phone, reply emails nor meet deadlines; you know the answer.

It was a day of laughs and really cool demonstrations! It’s been like a year since I last was on stage and as much as I love performing, it’s the most terrifying thing ever. Yesterday was no different and I still have no recollection whatsoever of how it went, it’s a major blur (except the word fumble) and I don’t think I’m going to watch that video either. But I’m really glad someone took this awesome picture of my laser tank-luminous fountain, because I never get to see how it looks like!

2014-04-26_14.44.05

And who could forget Prof Sow’s demonstrations, given the fact that we’ve seen the demos in class before and have heard the same jokes, I was equally impressed and mesmerised with the way he controlled the performance and engaged the audience. Lots of presentation skills I learnt in that 20 minutes.

2014-04-26_15.31.27_2

Anywho, I suck at these reflection things but this semester deserved a post and cheers to everyone who made it a worthwhile experience for me, THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

