Keep them interested or lose them forever!

That right there is the modern age teaching mantra.

Over lunch today, my colleagues and I were reminiscing technology in the past – the days of floppy disks, dial-up connection and LimeWire. It astounds me that we actually survived a time where we had to wait for technology to process our demands. Now, almost 10 years on, our attitudes have completely transformed. We need all our devices to be super-functional, and any type of delay is just unacceptable. We know that everything can be and has to be now!

We’ve become so accustomed to this speed and seamless connectivity and access to information; we expect immediate responsiveness from everything.

Take me for example – I get frustrated when clients or colleagues don’t respond to my emails immediately. When websites don’t load as fast as I want them to, I just close the tab and move on.

I even get agitated with my brain when it just doesn’t think and solve things as fast as I think it should.

I’m pretty sure I’m not alone. Many others like me want information fast and easy. As communicators or teachers, we have to understand these changing attitudes and adapt our methods and tools in teaching.  If we don’t deliver our information quick and straightforward, students will most definitely switch off.

The 60s drill we did in class yesterday is pretty much how teaching or any form of communication has to take place in this era. For those not in my class, we had to present a scientific research paper in just 60s (listen to my 60s Science podcast here)! Nit-picking the best information and putting them in a succinct framework to deliver it in 60s is no easy task.

Microblogging a.k.a Twitter trains and forces us to provide information in the most concise manner. It sounds really trivial but when you think about, tweeting is an art. To be able to compress your thoughts in 140 characters is pretty incredible! Practice makes perfect, so tweet away peeps!

Leave a Reply

